Joanna Newsom!

Heard her in concert in Paris last year (I think it was last year), and it was one of the most amazing concerts I’ve been to. People were absolutely mesmerized. Never seen anything like it.

When I listen to her music, I like to have the lyrics in front of me. I think that’s because there is so much text, and the texts are often kind of poetic and cryptic. Don’t know why, but often this puts me in a state where I’m able to write myself. It’s like the music and lyrics of others ignite a spark in me, and I’m able to let the words flow. Joanna is immensly inspiring, and I just found this interview on youtube. It’s nice, because she talks about her own writing process: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QIw4U0rqup4

Leave a Reply

