Sorry…

There you have it, now I feel bad for being so negative. I must therefore share something beautiful with you.

I have been going through Sheila Davis’ The Songwriters Idea Book this summer, and I’ve found it to be a great help getting ideas flowing! Not everything is interesting, but you pick what you feel you can use, and rush through the rest.
She has thought me to READ song lyrics. Never done that before, but I understand why it’s important to do. It’s useful looking at structure and rhyme without listening to the music at the same time. Anyway…
While working myself though it, this is one of the most beautiful lyrics I read – so simple, so elegant:

MOONLIGHT IN VERMONT

Pennies in a stream
Falling leaves, a sycamore
Moonlight in Vermont

I see fingers wave
Ski trails down a mountain side
Sowlight in Vermont

Telegraph cables, they sing down the highway
And travel each bend in the road
People meet, in this romantic setting
Are so hypnotized by the lovely…

Evening summer breeze
Warblings of a medowlark
Moonlight in Vermont
You and I and Moonlight in Vermont

***

Good night!

Leave a Reply

