Smart enough?

– I’m not smart enough, I said.

– Do you have to be smart to be a writer? he asked.

And I paused. 

It’s a good question. I feel like all the novels and short stories I read were written by brilliant people. Either they are brilliant, or they are very funny and streetwise. I’m neither. So what can I contribute with? I don’t know.

I’m repeating myself, but indeed it is a good question, and I don’t have the answer to it.

Do you have to be brilliant to write something others can relate to? Do you have to be technically proficient? Isn’t empathy just as important? Or social intelligence. Doesn’t it depend on what you want to share? And with whom?

For the third time: It’s a good question, a question worth pondering. 

Leave a Reply

